Query Letter Sample

Writing a great query letter will help get you published

A publishing agent is sitting on a chair with his cell phone to his ear. He is reading a query letter sample.
The query letter may be the most
important component of your publishing
package. Use our query letter sample
to make it stand out!

We have already discussed how to write a query letter and offered tips about what you should include in one and how you should format it. Now, we provide a query letter sample to help make the letter writing process easier. If you aren't sure your query letter is the best it can be, send it to our query letter editors for their revisions.

Query letter sample

Kings of New York Literary Agency

101 Rich Street

Brooklyn, NY

100000

USA

 

Dear Ms. Literary Prognosticator,

Aron Belkin has been tasked with finding the man who’s been embezzling money from his law firm; the only problem is that he’s the guilty party. Beneath the Skin is an 85,000 word crime novel in the vein of Henning Mankell and Ake Edwardson.

Aron is the fixer for a major law firm in New York. In order to cover a debt to a loan shark, however, he decides to slip a little of the firm’s money into his own pockets. It’s a simple plan, but sometimes simple plans go awry. Aron stops for a drink while waiting to deliver the money, only to have it stolen. Now, some friends (large friends) of the loan shark keep calling. Aron needs the money—now. His firm, too, discovers the missing money and ask Aron to find it—and find it fast. It seems the money belonged to a client, a local crime lord who doesn’t want to wait for a check and who sends a few of his own large men to poke around in Aron’s investigation. A local detective is also following the money trail, though whether he wants to make an arrest or make a deposit to his retirement account is never clear. Aron must find the money before the others find him with empty pockets. Luckily, he thinks he knows who took the money. He also knows he should never have trusted such a pretty face; strange things sometimes lie beneath the skin.

Beneath the Skin is my first novel, though a number of my stories have been published in The New Yorker, Fiddlehead, The Antioch Review, and AGNI. I recently acquired my MFA from the Iowa Writer’s Workshop and currently live in Poughkeepsie, New York, where I work as the city’s lone bike messenger.

Thank you for your time and consideration. I look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,

 

Hope Ingfor Representation

13 Poverty Ave.

Poughkeepsie, NY

131313

Tags: , ,

Back to Advice and Articles

BBB Accredited Business Quality Assurance - Scribendi is ISO 9001:2008 Certified